BIRSt has been winning awards regularly since its first year.
All the more remarkable when you consider that the BIRSt is run by a handful of students from one small course, and the entire team changes every year.

Mair Bosworth won the Gold Charles Parker Prize for Student Radio Features 2011 for Winterswimming, her piece about the Hampstead Heath men’s swimming pond. The judges praised this short programme as “a beautifully crafted feature, seamlessly edited and mixed which operated at many levels… a work of art with wonderful use of atmospheric sound, with excellent, revealing interviews”.

At the Student Radio Awards in London Mog McIntyre won a Silver award in the Best Newcomer category.

Andrea Miller won bronze for The Super Hero’s Girlfriend at the 2009 Student Radio Awards.

At the Student Radio Awards Selina Williams won gold for Three Years in Heaven.
Embers by Ellie McDowall & Geoff McQueen won silver.

Kwik Classics Presents… Wuthering Heights!  by Jackie Curthoys won gold at the 2007 Student Radio Awards in London and Dave Dodd won silver in the Male Presenter of the Year category.
Walls Have Ears by Alan Brown won 2nd prize at the BEA Awards, Las Vegas 2008

At the Student Radio Awards Kathryn McDonald won gold in the Comedy & Drama Programming category for Fishing for love on the Net

Back to Work by Zoe Mack won silver for Radio Comedy at the Student Radio Awards.

At the Student Radio Awards Stalker Corker by Lynda Bewley won gold for Best Non-Factual Programme.
Joe Hallam won bronze in the Best Feature category for On the Edge.

Tom Bennett won gold in Best Speech Based Non-factual Programming for Brave Georgina, and Phil Donkin‘s programme Stars of the Musical Underground won silver at the Student Radio Awards.

BIRSt received seven nominations for the Student Radio Awards 2000 in London at the first attempt! Best New Media Innovation. Best Newcomer: Matt Collins.
In Best Speech Based Programming (factual) we had four nominations out of six:
Misinterpreted by Claire Evans, The Strange House by Claire Evans, Contradictions by Eunice Toh, Welcome to the Blind Parrott by Matt Collins. And in Best Speech Based Programming (non-factual), one nomination: Romanza by Matt Collins.

Matt Collins won Best Newcomer and Claire Evans also received a gong for Misinterpreted.